Kim Reaper, Vol. 1

Kim Reaper (2017)

Creators:

Audience: , ,

Genre: , , ,

Series Type: , ,

Tone: , ,

Art Style: ,


Queer Representation:

Other Tags: ,


Languages:

Content Warnings: None

Synopsis

Like most university students, Kim works a part-time job to make ends meet. UNLIKE most university students, Kim’s job is pretty dang cool: she’s a grim reaper, tasked with guiding souls into the afterlife.

Like most university students, Becka has a super intense unrequited crush. UNLIKE most university students, Becka’s crush is on a beautiful gothic angel that frequents the underworld. Of course, she doesn’t know that.

Unaware of the ghoulish drama she’s about to step into, Becka finally gathers up the courage to ask Kim on a date! But when she falls into a ghostly portal and interrupts Kim at her job, she sets off a chain of events that will pit the two of them against angry cat-dads, vengeful zombies, and perhaps even the underworld itself. But if they work together, they just might make it… and maybe even get a kiss in the bargain.

From: Sarah Graley

Notes on This Title

None.

Awards

None.

Reviews

“Zombies, ghouls, and skeletal reapers all make appearances, but Graley’s humorous dialogue and cute cartoon illustrations (featuring Gravity Falls–esque oversized eyes and bubble-gum colors) keep things light. An appealing mixture of 95 percent humor and 5 percent horror perfect for fans of John Allison’s graphic-novel series Giant Days and the web series Carmilla.” (Kirkus: “Grim Beginnings”)

“Graley’s signature art style is sketchy, sharp and cartoony without lacking detail, and makes the book stand out. The pacing is rushed in places, but overall pretty smooth, no doubt because Graley both writes and draws the book, giving her more of an opportunity to tailor panels as she needs them. She’s particularly adept with facial expressions and body language, which serves to highlight the comedic beats and physical jokes on each page. It has the same kind of over-the-top, physical and nearly psychedelic humor as several Cartoon Network shows, and teeters just on the edge of being all-ages friendly. It’s fun and funny without rejecting serious themes, and offers Graley a great platform to hone her already impressive skills.” (Paste Magazine: “Queer Comedy/Romance Gets a ‘Grim’ Spin in Sarah Graley’s Kim Reaper”)

Interviews

Autostraddle: “Drawn to Comics: ‘Kim Reaper’ Is The Cute, Queer Comic You Need Right Now”

Women Write About Comics: “Queer Goth Romance: An Interview with Sarah Graley”

Leave a Comment